ENGRes2014 LogoENGRes2014 - MSCA Conference

MSCA Prizes 2014


The organizers of ENGRes2014, the the MSCA Conference 2014, had the immense pleasure to host the second Awards Ceremony of the Marie Sklodowska-Curie Actions Prizes.

The Awards Ceremony took place on the 18 November in the presence of Mr Xavier Prats Monné, Director General for Education, Culture, Youth and Sport from the European Commission, Ms Stefania Giannini, Italian Minister for Education , Universities and Research , Mr Ugo Rossi, President of the Autonomous Province of Trento and President of the Region Trentino Alto-Adige/Suedtirol, as well as some of the Prize Jury Members.

Those attending the ceremony were Prof Roberto Battiston, Prof Massimiano Bucchi, Dr Gkikas Magiorkinis, Prof Maria Cristina Pedicchio and Prof Bjoern Schumacher acting as members of the Jury.

The winners of the 2014 Marie Skłodowska-Curie Actions Prizes are:

Mr Sarah Bohndiek in the ‘Nurturing Research Talent’ category;

Ms Shane Bergin in the ‘Communicating Science’ category;

Ms Maanasa Raghavan in the ‘Promising Research Talent’ category.


Details on motivation for the awards to the three winners and their careers are available at:


During the conference, 17 talented finalists of the second edition of the Marie Sklodowska-Curie Actions Prizes had the opportunity to present their projects in a poster session.

All the finalists were shortlisted in one of the following three categories :

  • Communicating Science
  • Promising Research Talents
  • Nurturing Research Talents

We are pleased to share the finalists’ work, which clearly represents a valuable example of the way that the Marie Sklodowska-Curie Actions successfully contribute to empowering present and future generations of researchers.